App comparison

Variants King vs Rubik Combined Listings.

Two Shopify apps from the App Store, compared on price, free plan, features, theme support and help, from their listings read on October 26, 2026.

The short answer.

Listings read

Pick Variants King if

  • The listing tags option tools like custom text, file upload, dropdowns and conditional logic.
  • It can also split variants into their own products, which the listing ties to SEO.
  • Every paid plan shows a 30-day free trial before billing starts.

Pick Rubik Combined Listings if

  • The Free plan works on a live store and covers 5 product groups.
  • Paid plans have flat prices, with yearly billing that saves 17 percent.
  • The developer publishes a supported themes list naming Dawn, Prestige, Impulse and many others.

Side by side.

The same checklist for both apps, from each listing and each developer's pages on October 26, 2026.

Variants King and Rubik Combined Listings compared
FactVariants KingRubik Combined Listings
Kind Combined listing app Combined listing app
Developer StarApps Craftshift
Price from $14.90/month $10/month
Free plan No Yes
Free trial 30 days None shown
Paid plans 2 3
Rating 5.0 (457 reviews) 5.0 (115 reviews)
Built for Shopify badge Yes Yes
On the App Store since January 31, 2025 February 3, 2026
Theme support No theme statement found Publishes a list of supported themes (names 58 of the themes we cover)
Languages 12 17
Support Live chat and onboarding help Live chat and email
Full listing Variants King facts Rubik Combined Listings facts

Variants King: The price follows the store's Shopify plan: Standard is $14.90 on Basic; $5 applies to Pause and Build stores only.

Variants King: The free tier is for Shopify Partner stores only.

Rubik Combined Listings: The Free plan covers 5 product groups.

Features each listing shows.

The feature tags Shopify shows on each listing. A tag is the developer's claim, not a test of how well it works.

Only Variants King

  • Checkboxes
  • Conditional logic
  • Fonts
  • Dates
  • Dimensions
  • Dropdowns
  • File upload
  • Multi-select
  • Numbers
  • Radio buttons
  • Custom text
  • Gift wrap
  • Custom HTML
  • Size charts
  • Preview
  • Translation
  • Import and export
  • Custom pricing
  • Discount options
  • Add-ons
  • Variant upcharges
  • Tiered pricing
  • Low stock alerts
  • SKU management
  • In-stock display
  • Manual updates
  • Auto-updates

Only Rubik Combined Listings

None.

On both listings

  • Swatches
  • Custom CSS
  • Variants display
  • Hide out-of-stock
  • Stock availability

In more detail.

What each app is for

If you are weighing Variants King & Color Swatch vs Rubik Combined Listings Swatch, start here. Both are combined listing apps. They take separate products, such as one product per color, and show them as one product with swatches you can click between.

Variants King & Color Swatch, from StarApps, says it groups separate products into combined listings joined by color swatches. It also goes the other way and splits variants into their own products for SEO. Its listing carries a much longer set of feature tags, including custom text, file upload, dropdowns, conditional logic, gift wrap, size charts, add-ons, variant upcharges and tiered pricing. It launched on the App Store on January 31, 2025, and shows 5 stars from 457 reviews.

Rubik Combined Listings Swatch, from Craftshift, says it groups separate products as variants of a combined listing, with image or color swatches on product pages and product cards. Its feature tags stick to swatches, variants display, custom CSS, stock availability and hiding out-of-stock items. It launched on February 3, 2026, and shows 5 stars from 115 reviews. That review count is smaller, and the app is newer.

Both listings show the Built for Shopify badge. The five tags Rubik shows also appear on the Variants King listing.

Price and plans in practice

Variants King has no free plan for a normal live store. The free tier is for Shopify Partner stores only. The paid price follows your Shopify plan:

  • Basic: Standard $14.90 a month, Pro $29.90
  • Grow: Standard $29.90, Pro $59.90
  • Advanced: Standard $49.90, Pro $99.90
  • Plus: Standard $99.90, Pro $199.90

The $5 and $10 prices on the cards apply only to Pause and Build stores. Both paid plans show a 30-day free trial. So a small store on Basic would pay $14.90 a month for Standard once the trial ends.

Rubik has a Free plan that works on a live store and covers 5 product groups. Paid plans are flat, whatever your Shopify plan:

  • Starter: $10 a month, or $100 a year
  • Advanced: $30 a month, or $300 a year
  • Premium: $50 a month, or $500 a year

Yearly billing saves 17 percent, the pricing card shows. No free trial is shown on any plan. A small store can test the Free plan on a few groups, then move to Starter at $10 a month if it needs more. The listing does not state the group limits on the paid plans.

Both apps bill in USD, with recurring charges every 30 days.

Theme support, setup and help

Variants King’s listing and the developer pages we could read state nothing about theme support. If your theme matters, ask StarApps before you install, and use the 30-day trial to check it on your own store.

Craftshift’s FAQ says Rubik is compatible with all Shopify themes, naming Dawn, Prestige, Impulse, Impact, Focal and others. The developer also publishes a supported themes list. Of the 61 themes Techiepugs covers, that list names 58, including Horizon, Dawn, Impulse, Prestige and Turbo.

For help, the Variants King listing shows live chat support and onboarding help on the Standard plan, provided by StarApps. The listing does not state other help resources.

The Rubik listing shows live chat and email support from a real person even on the Free plan, provided by Craftshift. It also links to an FAQ, a tutorial and app documentation. The app is listed in 17 languages, compared with 12 for Variants King.

More comparisons.

Combined listing app

Platmart Color Swatches vs Variants King

Platmart Color Swatches from $9.99/month; Variants King from $14.90/month.

Combined listing app

Platmart Color Swatches vs LinkedOption

Platmart Color Swatches from $9.99/month; LinkedOption from $9.99/month.

Combined listing app

LinkedOption vs Rubik Combined Listings

LinkedOption from $9.99/month; Rubik Combined Listings from $10/month.

Swatch and variant image app

OP Color Swatch vs Variants King

OP Color Swatch from $11.90/month; Variants King from $14.90/month.

Sources.

Every fact on this page comes from these pages, read on October 26, 2026. Techiepugs is not paid by either developer, and neither link is an affiliate link.

Pages about Variants King and Rubik Combined Listings

Still deciding?

See every swatch and options app in one table, or suggest one we have not listed.